NSW Government Website

Image of Mount Allen Explanatory Notes 1987 book cover

Mount Allen Explanatory Notes (1987)

Geological Survey of New South Wales
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


The Mount Allen 1:100000 sheet covers an area of approximately 2775 square km in the central part of New South Wales, on the western edge of the Western Slopes. The sheet area lies mainly in the County of Blaxland; the south western part lies in County Franklin. The Mount Allen sheet area is mainly in Cobar Shire, although a small part in the southwest lies in Carrathool Shire. The area covered lies in the western part of the Lachlan fold Belt (which developed from the Palaeozoic Lachlan Mobile zone), and forms part of the Darling Depression, rock of the Silurian to Holocene age a crop out on the Mount Allen sheet. The explanatory notes were revised 1985 and published 1987.


Scheibner, E., 1987. Geology of the Mount Allen 1:100000 Sheet 8032. New South Wales Geological Survey, Sydney.